Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Is there a female NHL?

The Premier Hockey Federation, formerly the National Women’s Hockey League is a women’s professional ice hockey league located in the United States and Canada.


The League was established in 2015 with four teams and has since grown to six teams: the Boston Pride, Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whales, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps and the Toronto Six.


The league is the first women’s professional hockey league to pay its players. The Isobel Cup, the league’s championship trophy is awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each season.

During the inaugural season, some games were shown on ESPN3. The league’s flagship franchise, the Boston Pride, became the first women’s hockey team to enter a regular broadcasting agreement with a regional sports network, with 8 of its 18 games presented on either NESN or NESNplus during the league’s inaugural season.